The Girl Who Games

living for the next update

The Sims Freeplay- Houses Guide (Part One)


You can buy several different houses in the sims freeplay.  In this guide I will rate each house and give my opinion so you can see if it is worth buying!

The price and time it takes to build a house increases with every house purchased so when you get further into the game it takes a lot longer to save up for big houses and I usually get impatient waiting for it to complete the building! Also a lot of the houses cost LPs but are they really worth it? You will find out in this guide!

In this part I will be talking about the following houses:

  • Unfurnished Studio (s+p)
  • Furnished Townhouse (s+p)
  • One Bedroom Home (s+p)
  • Mansion (s+p)
  • Empty Lot (s+p)
  • The Sanctuary (s+p)
  • Dark Secret (s+p)
  • Skater’s Dream Pad (s+p)
  • Medieval Castle (s+p)
  • Designer Home (s+p)
  • Player Designed House (s+p)
  • Beachside Escape (p)

s= can be built on a standard plot

p= can be built on a premium plot

Standard or Premium?

Once you complete the real estate quest you can build houses on premium plots which are bigger.

  • Standard= 18×18
  • Premium= 36×18

NOTE: Some of the houses have been slightly modified

When I first started playing this game I got the house below free- I don’t know whether they have changed the house since then, but its a really nice sized house with some 2 star items included (this is a one story house but you could add another floor, mine is a 3 story house now)


Floors: One

Car: No

Unfurnished Studio- 1/5

This is the first house you can purchase, it is a lot cheaper than the others and is very basic. Its fine for when you first start the game and have no money but I have demolished all of mine and built bigger and better homes. There is no wallpaper or flooring so you are going to have to pay extra for that. (I didn’t think you needed to see a picture of this one as I’m sure this was the first house that everyone built!) (this is a one story house but you could add another floor)

Cost: Simoleons, depends on how many other houses you have built so far

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Empty space

Furnished Townhouse- 1/5


Slightly more expensive, still quite basic but at least it has wallpaper and flooring! Again its okay when you first start the game and its a nice sized house- apart from the kitchen is really small! (this is a one story house but you could add another floor)

Cost: Simoleons, depends on how many other houses you have built so far

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Empty space

One Bedroom Home- 3/5


This is a really nice sized house, perfect for 2 people, you could even expand it to add another bedroom at the back of the house. I like that the décor is quite traditional and looks like it would be a house for an older couple. There are mostly 2 star items in this house which means you can accomplish tasks quicker than the previous 2 houses. (this is a one story house but you could add another floor)

Cost: Simoleons, depends on how many other houses you have built so far

Floors: One

Car: Red Sedan- 1 star car

Premium Residence: Empty space

Mansion- 4/5

This is a 2 bedroom house with 2 bathrooms and an office- you also get a car with this house! Most of the items in this house are 3 stars so you can complete tasks really quickly! (this is a one story house)

I have edited this one making the spare room smaller and putting in 2 single beds and a room for the fashion studio.

Cost: Simoleons, depends on how many other houses you have built so far

Floors: One

Car: Luxury- 3 star car

Premium Residence: Empty space

Empty Lot- 5/5

Make of it what you will- you have a blank canvas to create an amazing house, this plot is cheaper than the other houses because you are going to spend alot of money making your own house!  I really like empty plots- I buy a lot of them as  I like creating my own houses but for this you do have to save up your money!

The Sanctuary- 2.5/5



premium garden

This house consists of two tiny rooms that aren’t connected, you have a bedroom/living room area and a bathroom. For a house that costs LPs I don’t think you get a lot for your money because it is filled with the cheapest 1 star items. It doesn’t even have some essential items! (this is a one story house, it would be difficult to add another floor)

My Edited Sanctuary

My Edited Sanctuary

I have edited my sanctuary to make it much better, it now has 4 separate rooms: a bedroom, a kitchen, a bathroom and a living room- so now the owner has everything he needs. With mostly 2 or 3 star items and a really nice garden (I would rate my own sanctuary about 4/5 now!)

Cost: Standard 13LPs, Premium 24LPs

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Lots of trees, work really well for this house

Dark Secret-1/5



premium garden

This is probably the worst house you can buy, its very white, plain, creepy and looks like some sort of prison! It really isn’t worth spending your LPs on this! (this is a one story house, you could add a second floor maybe with a different colour scheme)

Cost: Standard 14LPs, Premium 26LPs

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Trees

Skater’s Dream Pad- 4/5


premium garden

One of my favourite houses, I really like this house- mainly because there is a skateboard ramp in the garden! I think you get what you pay for with this house, it also costs LPs but you can tell that by looking at it- there are a lot of expensive items in this house (3 star items) and if you are on the lower levels you get some items that haven’t been unlocked in buy mode yet! (this is a one story house but you could add another floor)

My house is now empty but it used to have a family of 4 living in it but was a bit overcrowded (they now live in the player designed house) it’s a shame it’s unused but 4 people was just too many- this house will be perfect for a single man or a young couple.

Cost: Standard 28LPs, Premium 32LPs

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Trees

Medieval Castle- 3.5/5


premium garden

This is a one bedroom castle styled house- I think it works really well. It is an interesting shape and it does look like an castle, apart from lighting, the kitchen and bathroom appliances it is a traditional house, there is no tv but a chess set for entertainment. I think they should have created a fridge and oven that fits the theme. (this is a one story house but stairs could easily be added)

And your sims that live in this house can wear costumes to match!

Cost: Standard 21LPs, Premium 25LPs

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Trees

Designer Home- 3/5


premium garden

This is a one story house but you could easily add a second floor, I don’t think its the most exciting house available in the game, and okay there are plenty of 3 star items in the house but does that really make it designer?
I will definitely be changing the wallpaper and flooring in the kitchen and living room to make it look more what I would consider designer. I really like the entrance way into the house, although I think the front door should come through into the living room, not the kitchen.

Cost: Standard 32LPs, Premium 43LPs

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Seating area, garden decorations

Player Designed House- 4/5


premium garden

Another really nice house! This is a 2 bedroom house, the girls bedroom is my favourite room in this house because it is so pretty🙂 Its definitely worth the money! There is an entertainment room and a study with 3 star computers. The only thing I don’t like is the placing of the bathroom at the front of the house, this means there is no door at the front- you have to go around the side to the kitchen. This is a one story house.

I have turned this into a 2 story house though because I can’t stop changing things I wanted more garden space and a bigger nursery/play area, so I have moved the nursery and girls bedroom upstairs, the living room is now where the girls bedroom was and I made the room which was the living room smaller and turned that into a dining room so I could fit a swing outside.

Cost: Standard 44LPs, Premium 49LPs

Floors: One

Car: No

Premium Residence: Trees

Beachside Escape- 2/5


This is only available on the premium residence (the ones next to the beach) if you completed the ocean view quest in the time limit.

I don’t really like the front part of the house, I think it all should have a beach theme to it. It just looks like they thought ‘oh we need to actually make this look like its a holiday house for the beach- lets add a small cabin style thing to the end of the garden’ Its a bit weird. Although it does have a lot of 3 star products in the house and the garden area is really nice. This is a one story house.

Cost: Simoleons, depends on how many other houses you have built so far

Floors: One

Car: Luxury- 3 star car

NOTE: can only be built if you completed the ocean view quest in the time limit

I hope this has somewhat helped you decide what house to buy next

For reviews on Japanese Retreat, Sci Fi Shuttle, Neo Tokyo, Geek Heaven, Sim Cinema, Hallway House, Two Story Mansion, Scandinavian House, Teen Mansion, Haunted House, Latin Villa and DIY House check out part two here!

Part Three which is the Templates reviews can be found here

Houseboats can be found here

Thank you for reading!


.stealing is illegal.

Author: weightlessmagic

I'm a 21 year old from England who is passionate about being creative, I would like to say I'm good with words but I'm really not! Hopefully you will find my blogs helpful and entertaining! Enjoy! x

201 thoughts on “The Sims Freeplay- Houses Guide (Part One)

  1. I built a Neo Tokyo on a premium plot in the town and there’s no beach view😦 Is there a way to get the beach view back? All my other premium plot houses came with beach views.

  2. Does the premium residence for the skater pro pad have a pool

  3. Thanks for all your extensive tips! One question, I am on level 36 and game is played on a Kindle Fire HDX. Do you know any reason why the Beachside Escape house is not available for me to build? I can’t figure out why. It just doesn’t appear as a choice of houses to build. Any thoughts?

  4. Hi I just bought the player designed house and I love it my family that I moved in there has 2 parents and 2 little girls (toddlers but one a preteen soon ) and I was wondering if you had trouble with moving the pond it won’t let me sell it put it in my inventory or move it 😃😃😃 I would love your feedback your blogs are awesome by the way

  5. I changed my darksecret so the corridor leads to a master bedroom and I made it more of a home for aperson who enjoys romance.

  6. I spent like 100,000 simoleons on it 8l

  7. If I build the player designed home on one of the premium/larger lots, will there be room for a swimming pool?
    Also, you mentioned that you made that house 2 stories. What was the best place for the stair case?
    Thanks!! I love your blog, you’re so helpful!

  8. Do the houses get any bigger if u buy them on a ocean view property

  9. Okay so currently I have enough lps for the pro skaters dream pad so I was wondering, should I save up for the player designed one? Or should I just get the pro skaters house. Like, which one is better?

  10. Hi, I’ve got the beachside escape, can I demolish the cabin thing at the back to make more garden?? if so how? many thanks for all your tips and help, I always read your blog before doing quests!! Keep up the good work. 😉

  11. Hi, thanks, I’ve done it 😊, I’ve now built a garden room and put in a pool, I do love adapting…..😉

  12. Hi I’ve got another house building type query, can you just build a roof over an outside space? … it’s a shame that you can’t build a conservatory!! Thanks

    • no you can’t, yes they should add those to the game! and balconies!

      • That would be a great idea…..hmmm as I couldn’t just add a roof, I’ve made a room and put double glass doors in and those screen planters all round the walls so it now looks like a conservatory….I add a funnel fire, a couple of sofa, plants and a statue….looks good. Many thanks for all your tips, the one about cooking is brilliant, it’s hectic but very rewarding… are very clever….. Cheers Jean ☺️

  13. In the sanctuary which you have build I can see a golf course kind of a small area.
    Can you please tell me how did you get it..
    By the way I love your blog and it has saved me a couple of times during the quests.

  14. How many sims do you need to build mansion house ?

  15. Hi….sims new update, shopping mall coming soon, any idea how soon, thanks

  16. I’ve looked and you don’t have the haunted house on either home posts. Just wondering if you think it’s worth it for the goust hunting hobby?

  17. Hi so I’m just not able to buil the two story mansion and it seems like a really good house from the one my friend has… I want to know if it’s just the update I have or if it’s because you don’t get it until you have unlocked the ability to make 2nd and 3rd stories.?

  18. Anyone wondering- the mansion is VERY worth it! You get the luxury car, which is worth 60 LPs, so you might as well🙂

  19. If you build a second one story mansion, does the second mansion get another luxury car too? Jw. Thanks!

  20. Hi there🙂 I’ve saved up a few lucky points and I’m interested in buying either ‘Skater Dream Pad’ or ‘Player Designed Home’ on a premium lot. I want to know which is going to be the best pick? Cause you’ve rated both 4 and its hard to pick, judging by the pictures ^^ So yeah…Any suggestions to which would be the best🙂

  21. Pingback: The Sims Freeplay- Ocean View Estate Quest | The Girl Who Games

  22. Can you add stairs for another floor to the one story mansion? Or are the stairs only possible for the ones where you said you can add another floor?

  23. Recently started building a mansion on an ocean view lot for around S 136k+ because it would have cost me around S 200k+ on a standard residence lot.
    New to the game so I’ve been building the unfurnished studio on standard residence since it’s cheaper but the mansion was surprisingly cheaper on an ocean residence so I saved up for it but is that price difference normal?

    • I have just noticed that on my game too, I couldn’t tell you if it has always been like that because I didn’t previously pay attention to the price on each, sorry!

  24. Hi! Would like to say your blog is wonderful. May I ask the maximum number of sims that can live in one house? Thank you so much.🙂

  25. Do you know which houses change in premium and standard lots? Like the gardens and stuff? I built the designer home on a premium lot and there was no empty space in the back of the lot unlike my one story mansion so I’m thinking the designer house might be different in a standard lot (such as a smaller/no garden) if you get what I mean. I only build one house of each pre-built so I can’t compare. Do you know if there are other houses like that?

    • I have updated the post to include whether a house is different on a premium plot from a standard, if it is different I have also included pictures, I hope that helps!

  26. Does the player designed house has any pets, because I’ve seen a dog house in the front. Thanks for your blog, it helps me very. Thank you 😊

  27. Hi there, will I get the car with buying mansion even if I haven’t build car dealer yet?
    Thank you🙂

  28. “I can’t stop changing things”

  29. My sister is level 19 and I am 46. She has wallpaper in her house that is not available to me. It’s not in my home store. She says she didn’t buy it through the store where you pay for things nor did she do a quest for it. One has big rockets on it and the other is purplish with what looks like green fireflies on it. Why aren’t these available to me? Also she will put something in her house for me to use like a podium but when I go to use it, it does not show up for me? Why is this? Thank you.

  30. Hi there🙂 I was wondering if the premade homes allow you to get items you couldn’t get otherwise, ie. furniture you can’t buy standalone? I’d much rather make my own homes from scratch, but before I buy all empty lots I’d like to make sure I won’t miss anything.

    • no they don’t but they allow you to get items you may not have unlocked in the game yet or items that cost LPs for only the prize of the house but you won’t miss anything if you decide to build your own houses

  31. Hi thinking of buying the player designer home, just wanted to check if you can delete rooms or change their sizes in it? Thank you.

  32. I love my beachside escape honestly…but I had to do a lot of remodeling. I made the house in the back significantly smaller and just a bathroom/bedroom so there was a bit more backyard, added a pool. Oh, and I guess I moved the bathroom to connect to the master bedroom too.

    I don’t know. I think it is a great template though and doesn’t take that many simoleons to fix up.

    That is my main family though and I will eventually move them into a mansion when I have the chance.

  33. I didn’t get a doggie with my first house😦 Is there a reason why??? my brother who plays started with one.

  34. Would there be a reason why building a mansion by the sea is cheaper than building it in the town?🙂 Thank you very very much for this blog- it is really helpful!😀

  35. Idk if this is a glitch or what, but for some reason it is over 100K cheaper for me to build a mansion on an ocean view residance than on a standard. It’s even cheaper to build the two story mansion on an ocean view residance than a mansion on a standard plot. Quite strange.

  36. Hey I just built the medieval castle, how do I get the outfits that go with it? I couldn’t find them in the wardrobe.

  37. I really want to build the Beachside Escape but I don’t have it on the house building menu. I looked on the premium lot but it didn’t have it there either. I am on Level 31 and was wondering if I just haven’t unlocked it yet?

  38. I am surprised as to why the Mansion should be more expensive on a standard lot. On a Standard lot it’s going to cost me $197500, while building the Mansion on an Ocean View lot is on ly $78500. Does the mansion in the Ocean View lot comes with a car too? Has anybody build the Mansion on the Oceani View & got ta car? If not, that could account for the price difference?

    I see people keep on mentioning about a 2 Storey Mansion. I dont see it. I am in Level 20 but way behind in my quest, still on A Quest for Toddler. Is there any quest that’s needed to unlock the 2 Storey Mansion? Or is it the quest regarding the Multi-Storey Renovation ?

    • Sorry you had to answer your own question!
      But I will answer the second part, yes you have to complete the multi story renovations quest before you can build the 2 story mansion🙂

  39. I am answering my own question. I decided to jump right in buying the Mansion on the Ocean View lot, which is a lot cheaper than building one at the Standard lot. It also comes with a silver car!!! I have not check whether it’s just a ones star or a Luxury car ,which I read, comes with the Mansion on a Standard lot.

    I have been playing the Sims game on 2 different tablets, Android & IOS. But the characters in one tablet are different from the other. Keeping up with the quests takes so much of your time & attention that I decided to slow down & temporarily stop doing the quests in my Android Tablet. I stopped before doing the Need for Steed but have already started the Sunset Boulevard Quest. Just to the point of getting the burger stand & have not proceeded further since there is no longer the time pressure to finish building the rest of the mall stores. What I am doing is just concentrating buying up the higher end houses which are available to me – Neo Tokyo, Japanese Retreat, Pro_Skater House, Mansion & currently the SciFi House on construction. These are all built on the Ocean View lot except for the Pro-Skater which is in Mystery Island. I know in the future getting the houses like Teen Mansion that comes in later quests will cost a lot more since I already have several existing houses. At least this way I get to enjoy rearranging the Prime houses for the meantime.

    It’s on my Ipad that I concentrate my efforts on the quests but less house building since most of the funds are geared toward paying for the construction costs of each quest.

    Just finished my Toddler Quest with 20 hours to spare. Should have waited until to the last hour of g doing the last task ( Listening to Sterio) of Toddler quest. I am still short of $35,000 from the construction cost of the Swim Center, which immediately started right after the Toddler Quest. EA is really pushing it!

    • It’s a 3 star luxury car! Have not taken the time to test drive the car. My Sims are too busy working , cooking & planting to generate more $$$ for new house purchases! LOL!

  40. Hi, is there a way around increasing beyond the max number of sims allowed to live on a property? If I add more floors will I be allowed more sims on that plot? Or is it just that the standard plots only allow 4 sims and the larger plots allow a slightly bigger number? How many sims are allowed on the boathouse plots? thanks

  41. Hi! Love your blog! In the Beachside Escape, can you have 4 sims living in the main house and and addl sims living in the ‘backyard’ house? Or just 4 sims per property? Thank you!!

  42. there is also a hallway house
    It is new i think🙂

  43. hi, i have the beginners house. But i want all my four sims to live here (+1 baby) then when i asked to move in. they said that this place is too crowded. What will I do now?

  44. Do the player designed house or the designer house come with a car?

  45. Is there a car in the player designed house? I’m wondering if I shoud get it.

  46. comments are disabled on this post, if you have a question please ask it on this page