The Girl Who Games

living for the next update

The Sims Freeplay- Designer Rugs Event



This event is only available for 7 days from the 15th September.

You need to complete the fishing hobby 7 times within the 7 days to unlock all 7 rugs- quite a challenge this one if you aren’t already on level 8. You get a new rug at random each time you complete it, once you unlock a rug you get to keep it even if you don’t find them all.

If you haven’t done the Fishing hobby yet you can find details here


You need to firstly accept this quest, it will remove the fishes you have already created from the collection so you don’t get a head start.

If you say no you can start it from the hobby tab.

Once you have said yes, start fishing and you just have to complete the collection seven times in 7 days!


-have more than one sim working on it if you can! You can send a sim to a neighbours park and if you have build the beach or campgrounds you can also fish there!
-if you can, do the 10 minute option over and over, you will find the most fish this way
-if you are not a level 8 yet it seems that you can still do the 10 minute option and make it to level 8 fairly quickly so no need to do the longest options!
-remember to click start new collection at the top of the fishing hobby collections list once you have got all the fish
-most importantly: just keep going! I know it’s annoying when you get the same one constantly but you will eventually get the ones you need.

The Rugs

NOTE: The first picture shows you all the shapes each rug comes in, after that the other pictures just show you one rug so you can see the design and the prices for each

Navy Circles


Purple Shag


Warm Geo Rug


Pink Zigzag Rug


Red Lines


Light Shag


Mocha Squares


Remember this isn’t the order you will get them in, you will find them at random

Good Luck!

Thanks for reading!


.stealing is illegal.

Author: weightlessmagic

I'm a 21 year old from England who is passionate about being creative, I would like to say I'm good with words but I'm really not! Hopefully you will find my blogs helpful and entertaining! Enjoy! x

49 thoughts on “The Sims Freeplay- Designer Rugs Event

  1. Good luck with this. I feel I won’t get it done. I only have the park and neighbors town to work with.

  2. Wow cool!

    Sent from my iPad


  3. OK. Another back to back timed hobby. I’m still not even close to getting all of the outfits in the infant and toddler hobbies or the makeup designs on the makeup hobby. I’d just finished the fashion hunter one yesterday morning and thought I’d have a breather and this one popped up last night. I wish they’d just slow things down a little so we could enjoy our rewards and the things we have built.

  4. Just finished this challenge but I didn’t read it properly and can’t find the rugs😦

  5. I know this isn’t really a glitch, but while fishing I wasn’t watching my sims bladder, they peed on the pier right at the edge where they stand to fish. I tried to clean it up but it won’t let me select the puddle, only the fishing hobby.😦
    Do you know how I can cycle through overlapping options? If there’s even a way.:/
    That pee puddle is mocking me! Lol. xD

    • My sim has done this before and I was never able to get rid of it but when I needed to update my game it seemed to remove the puddle so hopefully yours will go in the next update

  6. Have unlock any of the rugs yet?

  7. I have 6 tasks going right now, crazy. I wish I hadn’t been slower with quests before finding your blog. I’m on level 34, and working on preteens, which thankfully has no time limit. But the rugs + makeup artist, plus weekly + neighbor (ignoring the latter); & preteens + super toddler quests. If I get even just 2 sets of rugs, I’ll be satisfied! I did get 17/18 fish in 24 hours though, so maybe there’s hope? Worried about the makeup. I want that vanity. Thanks though for all your posts. This game would be chaotic without your walkthroughs.

    • This game is chaotic at the moment even with my walkthroughs! haha
      Like yourself I was doing 6 tasks at once, luckily I have just finished this event but I still have one more to go on the makeup hobby. I really think they picked the worst time to bring out this event!

  8. P.S. There is a comment of mine still awaiting moderation on “In Da Clubhouse Quest”. Dunno if you missed it yet. (Feel free to delete this useless P.S. Comment, lol.)

    • no I haven’t missed it, just a bit busy right now, if I remember rightly it was saying that they have updated a time so I will need to leave it in moderation until I get a chance to change the time on the post, sorry.

  9. In my game, I noticed that my sims have been leveling up quicker than ever before when using the 10 minute “Go Fishing” option. So I have been making sure to reset each sim’s hobby level after they reach level 8 in fishing (by using the 1 minute cooking option and then going back to fishing). That way, I can earn LPs when a sim reaches levels 6, 7 and 8. I figure the extra LPs will be helpful with finishing the event before the time limit is up.

  10. It looks like they changed the amount of experience you need to get to level 8 fishing. I remember it taking days to get a sim there, but yesterday I managed to get a sim leveled up to 8 by choosing the 10 minute option, reset him, and level up to 8 again. I actually did this with four sims and ended up with 48 new Lifestyle Points in a day, just from fishing.

    However, the whole time I was searching for the final fish (Hi-sim-burg?), and I only got it when the first sim got back to level 8. I’m not sure if you need to be level 8 to get him, or if he’s just that sneaky.

    • Yes I got all fish except the Hi Sim-burg within a couple of days but it took me 3 more days to get the last one. In between I caught 50 salmon! After all that I don’t think the rugs are that great..

  11. Is this event only available for 7 days or permanately until started? I want to finish two other quest I’m on and up my sims fishing level before I start it.

  12. How do you unlock the make up hobby?

  13. If i haven’t started on 15, will i miss the entire event? I haven’t gotten any event notice yet. Even in the hobbies tab :((

  14. It won’t come up on my page…is there anything I can do ???

  15. I just finished my first set, and went to go look at them. It just unlocks them so you can buy them. This was a disappointment because I thought it was just going to give me a set for all that hard work. D:

    • Exactly what I thought. Then I realised you had to redo the task over and over again. Wasted a whole day thinking I completed😦

  16. Sadly I don’t have a beach or campgrounds yet, so I have only two sims fishing (one in my town and one in my neighbour’s). Got 17 fish the first day and I spent the next 3 days trying to get fish number 18. I hope you finish the complete event so I can atleast see the rugs on pictures😀 PS. When you get your sim to level 7 the 10 minute option gives you 0% progress so I guess if you want to get to lvl 8 and earn some LP you have to use the longer options.

    • I only had 2 sims doing it too, I set a timer for every 10 minutes to complete it (never want to do the fishing hobby again!) Don’t worry too much if you don’t complete it, I’m sure they will bring it back again one day! The pictures are now in the post🙂
      The 10 minute option still worked to get my sim to level 8, I don’t know why it isn’t working for you

  17. I hate these type of event where you just have to do the same activity over and over and over.
    I will pass on it.

  18. Man this is annoying. I had six sims working round-the-clock doing 10-minute “design fashions” to unlock the 12 fashion designs enough times to unlock all the hairstyles, and now I have to do it with two sims and 18 different fish? Three days left and I’ve only unlocked three rugs. What are they thinking?

  19. What if you don’t start the hobby on the 15th, but (for example ) 2 days from the end?
    Will you still get 7 days to complete it, or it will end on 22/9?

  20. I did the ten minute fishing option, but then used one LP to finish it and get the fish. I did that several times to get all the fish and complete this. Starting to fish and using one LP each time to finish it was much better than using 5 LP to spin the thing and rush through the hobby.

  21. What rug is your favourite? My favourite is the light shag

  22. Sims meant to be a past time game, but its more that u need to put a lot of attention due to events…

  23. Only put 2 and 2 together this morning that I can make a sim fish in a neighbour’s park, so now finally have two sims fishing. Despite only having 1 sim fishing for most of the time I’m almost finished all the rugs! Just need 6 more fish until I’ve unlocked the last rug (the warm geo rug, which looks rad). So it’s very possible for people to do it if they only even have one sim fishing, although you do have to be a bit disciplined with checking every 10 minutes. But it’s not too bad, I just check my fishers, then do the cooking hobby to gain LPs while watching Youtube vids, then going back to my fishermen when it’s almost time for them to catch new fish. So good luck to everyone else trying to get the rugs! It’s definitely doable, and worth it in my opinion!🙂

  24. Yay I just finished. Got all the rugs😀

  25. I’m stuck doing a 24 hour fishathon for another question so I’m probably not getting many rugs😦

  26. Will the updated XP stay after the event or will I have to return to cooking and uneaten food for quick LPs? And I wish they updated ghost hunters hobby too it’s annoying to level up 4 levels with 2 % every time…