The Girl Who Games

living for the next update

The Sims Freeplay- Adding Balconies


Once you complete the Lovey-Dovey Balcony Quest you can build balconies on houses that have more than one floor, this post explains how to add a balcony and all the ways you can customise it!

NOTE: you will not be able to customise a balcony until the quest has been completed


1.Building a Balcony

You can build a balcony on any floor except the ground floor, you need to go to the house section of buy mode, click on the last orange tab then you can touch and drag anywhere inside the yellow highlighted area but it must be connected to the house. Green means it can be built there.

Drag the white highlighted edged to resize

Balconies can be joined together to create more interesting shapes.

2.Support posts

The second tab is support posts, you don’t need to add them but you may want to, these are placed underneath the balcony (if you have two balconies one above the other you can add support posts to the balcony below)

3.Balcony Paving

The third tab is where you can select the type of tiles you want on your balcony, click on the style then click on the balcony


The fourth tab changes the railings, again click on the style then onto the balcony and it will place them around the edge

Deleting a Balcony

While on the balcony tab click on the balcony you wish to delete and select the red simoleon symbol to sell it.

For more details you can watch my video, Building Patios, Balconies and Basements

Related Posts: Adding Patios and Adding Basements

Thanks for reading!


Author: weightlessmagic

I'm a 21 year old from England who is passionate about being creative, I would like to say I'm good with words but I'm really not! Hopefully you will find my blogs helpful and entertaining! Enjoy! x

20 thoughts on “The Sims Freeplay- Adding Balconies

  1. Is balconies from the new update?

  2. I’m to the point in the quest where I should build the balcony on my 2 story home, but the orange balcony button doesn’t work. All of the other orange buttons don’t work now either. I can’t move past this point in the quest or do anything with home store now. Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas on how to get this corrected? Thanks and I love the website!

    • How strange! Have you tried restarting your device? If that doesn’t fix this problem you may need to contact EA to see if they can fix this for you

      • Yes, I deleted the game from my device and reloaded it and tried restarting my device. I reached out to EA and they said that they are receiving a large amount of inquiries so it may take longer to get a response. On the meantime I can’t do anything and am running out of time to complete the quest in time. What a bummer. Thanks so much for your quick response! Love this website!

      • I figured it out! I needed to purchase something for another task and that was preventing me from moving on. Once I did that, I could add the balcony. Whew! Thanks again!

  3. how much are balconies?

  4. How would I go about building rooftop patios? Would I build the 3rd floor and then construct the patio as I would on ground or do I need to build it as a balcony?

  5. I’ve completed the balcony quests, but I can’t put trees or some of the outdoor decorations on a balcony. How come?

  6. can you build rooms on balconies

  7. My question is can pool be built on balcony?

  8. I’ve seen hottubs be put on balconies in various youtube videos, but I can’t seem to do it myself. If I try, the view drops from the balcony to the ground floor. Do I need support posts to be able to hold the weight?

  9. I have seen pictures of balconies without railings but the game won’t let me remove mine. Am i doing something wrong or was it a glitch that allowed to remove them? Thank you. Love your page, by the way.

Question? Comment? Please Leave a Reply! (The comment is approved before posting so don't worry if you can't see yours yet!) PLEASE READ THE POST/ COMMENTS IN CASE I HAVE ANSWERED YOUR QU

